Appendix E

Appendix E

Appendix E

Appendix E
REGIONAL EXPERTS


These individuals are willing to briefly respond to specific questions in their area of expertise, or to provide referral to others in the sustainable agriculture field. Please respect their schedules and limited ability to respond. Note: CC denotes cover crop(s) or cover cropping.

NORTHEAST
Andy Clark
SARE Outreach
10300 Baltimore Ave. , Bldg. 046
Beltsville, MD 20705 301-504-6425
fax 301-504-5207
coordinator@sare.org
www.sare.org
technical information specialist for sustainable agriculture; legume/grass CC mixtures

Jim Crawford
New Morning Farm
22263 Anderson Hollow Rd.
Hustontown, PA 17229
814-448-3904
fax 814-448-2295
jim@newmorningfarm.net
www.newmorningfarm.net
35 years of CC for vegetable production

Eric Gallandt
Weed Ecology & Management
Dept. of Plant, Soil & Environmental Sciences
University of Maine
5722 Deering Hall
Orono, ME 04469
207-581-2933
gallandt@maine.edu
www.umaine.edu/weedecology/
CC & weed management

Steve Groff
Cedar Meadow Farm
679 Hilldale Rd.
Holtwood, PA 17532
717-284-5152
fax 717-284-5967
steve@cedarmeadowfarm.com
www.cedarmeadowfarm.com
CC/no-till strategies for vegetable & agronomic crops

Vern Grubinger
University of Vermont Extension
11 University Way
Brattleboro, VT 05301-3669
802-257-7967 ext. 13
vernon.grubinger@uvm.edu
www.uvm.edu/vtvegandberry/Videos/covercropvideo.html
vegetable & berry specialist

H.G. Haskell III
4317 S. Creek Rd.
Chadds Ford, PA 19317
tel/fax 610-388-0656
cell 610-715-7688
siwvegies@aol.com
rye/vetch mix for green manure & erosion control; uses winter rye CC on all land; 70% no-till

Zane R. Helsel
Rutgers Cooperative Extension
88 Lipman Dr. 313 Martin Hall
New Brunswick, NJ 08901-8525
732-932-5000 x585
fax 732-932-6633
helsel@aesop.rutgers.edu
www.rce.rutgers.edu
CC in field crops

Stephen Herbert
University of Massachusetts
Dept. of Plant Soil Insect Sciences
Bowditch Hall
Amherst, MA 01003
413-545-2250
fax 413-545-0260
sherbert@pssci.umass.edu
www.umass.edu/cdl
CC culture, soil fertility, crop nutrition & management & nitrate leaching

Jeff Moyer
The Rodale Institute
611 Siegfriedale Rd.
Kutztown, PA 19530
610-683-1420
fax 610-683-8548
jeff.moyer@rodaleinst.org
www.newfarm.org
CC management in biologically based no-till systems, CC in grain crop rotations, CC as a weed management tool, rolling CC

Jack Meisinger
USDA/ARS BARC-East
Bldg. 163F Rm 6
10300 Baltimore Ave
Beltsville, MD 20705
301-504-5276
jmeising@anri.barc.usda.gov
nitrogen management in CC systems

Anne & Eric Nordell
3410 Rte. 184
Trout Run, PA 17771
570-634-3197
rotational CC for weed control

Marianne Sarrantonio
University of Maine
Dept. of Plant, Soil & Environmental Science
5722 Deering Hall
Orono, ME 04473
207-581-2913
fax 207-581-2999
mariann2@maine.edu
effects of CC on nutrient cycling & soil quality in diverse cropping systems

Eric Sideman
Maine Organic Farmers & Gardeners Assoc.
P. O. Box 1760
Unity, ME 04988
207-946-4402
fax 207-568-4141
esideman@mofga.org
www.mofga.org
CC in rotation with vegetables & small fruit on organic farms

John R. Teasdale
USDA/ARS BARC-West
Bldg. 001 Rm 245
10300 Baltimore Ave
Beltsville, MD 20705
301-504-5504
fax 301-504-6491
john.teasdale@ars.usda.gov
CC mgmt. /weed mgmt. using CC

Donald Weber
Research Entomologist
Insect Biocontrol Laboratory
10300 Baltimore Ave.
Bldg. 011A, Rm. 107 BARC-West
Beltsville, MD 20705
301-504-8369
fax 301-504-5104
Don.Weber@ars.usda.gov
CC & pest management (vegetable crops only)

David W. Wolfe
Cornell University
Dept. of Horticulture
168 Plant Science Bldg.
Ithaca, NY 14853
607-255-7888
fax 607-255-0599
dww5@cornell.edu
hort.cals.cornell.edu/people/faculty.cfm?netId=dww5
CC for improved soil quality in vegetables

NORTH-CENTRAL

Rich Bennett
13 Lakeview Dr.
Napoleon, OH 43545
419-592-1100
benfarm1@excite.com
CC for soil quality & herbicide/pesticide reduction

John Cardina
Ohio State University
Dept. of Horticulture & Crop Science
1680 Madison Ave.
Wooster, OH 44691
330-263-3644
fax 330-263-3887
cardina.2@osu.edu
CC for no-till corn & soybeans

Stephan A. Ebelhar
University of Illinois, Dept. of Crop Sciences
Dixon Springs Agricultural Center
Rte. 1, Box 256
Simpson, IL 62985
618-695-2790
fax 618-695-2492
sebelhar@uiuc.edu
http://www.cropsci.illinois.edu/research/rdc/dixonsprings/
CC for no-till corn & soybeans

Rick (Derrick N.) Exner, Ph.D.
Iowa State University Extension
Practical Farmers of Iowa
2104 Agronomy Hall, ISU
Ames, IA 50011
515-294-5486
fax 515-294-9985
dnexner@iastate.edu
www.practicalfarmers.org
on-farm CC research for the upper Midwest

Carmen M. Fernholz
2484 Hwy 40
Madison, MN 56256
320-598-3010
fax 320-598-3010
fernholz@umn.edu
minimum tillage, general cover crops, seeding soybeans into standing rye

Walter Goldstein
Michael Fields Agricultural Institute
P. O. Box 990
East Troy, WI 53120
262-642-3303 ext. 112
fax 262-642-4028
wgoldstein@michaelfieldsaginst.org
www.michaelfieldsaginst.org
CC for nutrient cycling & soil health in biodynamic, organic & conventional systems

Frederick Kirschenmann
3703 Woodland
Ames, IA 50014
515-294-3711
fax 515-294-9696
leopold1@iastate.edu
CC for cereal grains, soil quality & pest mgt.

Matt Liebman
Iowa State University
Dept. of Agronomy
3405 Agronomy Hall
Ames, IA 50011-1010
515-294-7486
fax 515-294-3163
mliebman@iastate.edu
www.agron.iastate.edu/personnel/userspage.aspx?id=646
CC for cropping system diversification, soil amendments, weed ecology & management, crop rotation, green manures, intercrops, animal manures, composts, insects & rodents that consume weed seeds

Todd Martin
MSU Kellogg Biological Station
Land & Water Program
3700 E. Gull Lake Dr.
Hickory Corners, MI 49060
269-671-2412 ext. 226
fax 269-671-4485
tmartin@kbs.msu.edu
www.covercrops.msu.edu
CC for corn, soybeans, vegetables, blueberries in Michigan

Paul Mugge
6190 470th St.
Sutherland, IA 51058-7544
712-446-2414
pmugge@midlands.net
Iowa farmer using CC for corn & soybeans

Dale R. Mutch
MSU Kellogg Biological Station
Land & Water Program
3700 E. Gull Lake Dr.
Hickory Corners, MI 49060
269-671-2412 ext. 224
800-521-2619
fax 269-671-4485
mutch@msu.edu
www.covercrops.msu.edu
general CC information provider

Rob Myers
Thomas Jefferson Agricultural Institute
601 West Nifong Blvd, Ste. 1D
Columbia, MO 65203
573-449-3518
fax 573-449-2398
rmyers@jeffersoninstitute.org
www.jeffersoninstitute.org
CC & crop diversification

Sieg Snapp
W.K. Kellogg Biological Station
Michigan State University
3700 East Gull Lake Dr.
Hickory Corners, MI 49060
fax 269-671-2104
snapp@msu.edu
www.kbs.msu.edu/faculty/snapp
using CC to enhance nitrogen fertilizer use efficiency & nutrient cycling in row crops

Richard Thompson
Thompson On-Farm Research
2035 190th St.
Boone, IA 50036-7423
515-432-1560
dickandsharon@practicalfarmers.org
CC in corn-soybean-corn-oats-hay rotation


SOUTH
Philip J. Bauer
USDA/ARS Cotton Production Research Center
2611 West Lucas St.
Florence, SC 29501-1241
843-669-5203 x137
fax 843-662-3110
phil.bauer@ars.usda.gov
CC for cotton production

J.P. (Jim) Bostick, Ph.D.
Southern Seed Certification Assoc.
P. O. Box 357
Headland, AL 36345
334-693-3988
fax 334-693-2212
jpbostick@centurytel.net
specialty CC & seed development

Nancy Creamer
North Carolina State University
Center for Environmental Farming Systems
Box 7609
Raleigh, NC 27695
919-515-9447
fax 919-515-2505
nancy_creamer@ncsu.edu
www.cefs.ncsu.edu
CC management for no-till organic vegetable production

Seth Dabney USDA-ARS
National Sedimentation Laboratory
P. O. Box 1157
598 McElroy Drive
Oxford, MS 38655
662-232-2975
fax 662-232-2915
sdabney@ars.usda.gov
legume reseeding & mechanical control of CC in the mid-South

Greg D. Hoyt
Dept. of Soil Science, NCSU
Mtn. Hort. Crops Res. & Ext. Center
455 Research Dr.
Fletcher, NC 28732
828-684-3562
fax 828-684-8715
greg_hoyt@ncsu.edu
CC for vegetables, tobacco & corn

D. Wayne Reeves, Research Leader
USDA/ARS
J. Phil Campbell Sr. Natural Resource Conservation Center
1420 Experiment Station Rd.
Watkinsville, GA 30677
706-769-5631 ext. 203
cell 706-296-9396
fax 706-769-8962
Wayne.Reeves@ars.usda.gov
CC management & conservation tillage for soybean, corn, cotton, peanut, & integrated grazing-row crop systems

Kenneth H. Quesenberry
University of Florida
P. O. Box 110500
Gainesville, FL 32611
352-392-1811 ex. 213
fax 352-392-1840
clover@ifas.ufl.edu
forage legume CC in S.E. USA

Jac Varco
Mississippi State University
Plant & Soil Sciences Dept. Box 9555
Dorman Hall, Room 117
Mississippi State, MS 39762
662-325-2737
fax 662-325-8742
jvarco@pss.msstate.edu
CC & fertilizer/nutrient management for cotton production


WEST
Miguel A. Altieri
University of California at Berkeley
215 Mulford Hall
Berkeley, CA 94720-3112
510-642-9802
fax 510-643-5438
agroeco3@nature.berkeley.edu
http://nature.berkeley.edu/~agroeco3
CC to enhance biological pest control in perennial systems

Robert L. Bugg, Ph.D
U.C. Sustainable Agriculture Research & Education Program
University of California at Davis
One Shields Ave.
Davis, CA 95616-8716
530-754-8549
fax 530-754-8550
rlbugg@ucdavis.edu
www.sarep.ucdavis.edu
CC selection, growth & IPM

Jorge A. Delgado Soil Scientist
Soil Plant Nutrient Research Unit USDA/ARS
2150 Centre Avenue, Building D, Suite 100
Fort Collins, CO 80526
jdelgado@lamar.colostate.edu
Jorge.Delgado@ars.usda.gov
CC in irrigated potato, vegetables and small grain systems

Richard P. Dick
Professor of Soil Microbial Ecology
Ohio State University
School of Environment & Natural Resources
Columbus, OH 43210
614-247-7605
fax 614-292-7432
Richard.Dick@snr.osu.edu
nitrogen cycling & environmental applications of CC

Shiou Kuo
Washington State University
Dept. of Crop & Soil Sciences
7612 Pioneer Way
East Puyallup, WA 98371-4998
253-445-4573
fax 253-445-4569
Skuo@wsu.edu
CC & soil nitrogen accumulation & availability to corn

John M. Luna
Oregon State University Dept. of Horticulture
4107 Agricultural & Life Sciences Bldg.
Corvallis, OR 97331
541-737-5430
fax 541-737-3479
lunaj@oregonstate.edu
CC for integrated vegetable production & agroecology

Dwain Meyer
North Dakota State University
Loftsgard Hall, Room 470E
Extension Service
Fargo, ND 58105
701-231-8154
dmeyer@ndsuext.nodak.edu
yellow blossom sweetclover specialist

Clara I. Nicholls
University of California
Dept. of Environmental Science Policy & Management
Division of Insect Ecology
137 Hilgard Hall
Berkeley, CA 94720
510-642-9802
fax 510-643-5438
nicholls@berkeley.edu
CC for biological control in vineyards

Fred Thomas
CERUS Consulting
2119 Shoshone Ave.
Chico, CA 95926
530-891-6958
fax 530-891-5248
fred@cerusconsulting.com
CC specialist for tree & vine crops, row crops, field crops, vegetable crops & summer CC


Top | Appendix F CITATIONS BIBLIOGRAPHY

You are reading the SARE book Managing Cover Crops Profitably, 3rd Edition.

Order this publication.